Counter-protesters dwarf KKK at rally for Confederate statue – CBS News

http://www.cbsnews.com/news/at-virginia-kkk-rally-counter-protesters-show-up-in-droves/

It is hard for me to even imagine their being a KKK in 2017. I guess I can kind of see both sides of this story.  ( I mean the preservation of historical landmarks not a celebration of racism. American history is important. We study history to keep from repeating it. At the same time if I were the descendant of slaves I do not think I would want a ” constant reminder” of what my ancestors were forced to endure. I would perhaps feel it was unfair to be constantly reminded via a public monument. At the same time if we deny slavery existed we are not being honest or realistic about where we have been and thus will have no real clue where we are headed.

Leave a Reply

