Kidnapping and Sex Slavery: Covering ISIS’ Religious Justification for Rape – NYTimes.com

http://mobile.nytimes.com/2015/08/14/insider/kidnapping-and-sex-slavery-covering-isiss-religious-justification-for-rape.html?referrer=
As a woman and an American citizen it is hard for me to understand living in a world where for some there is a “theological justification ” for Rape (that is certainly not something that I learned in Sunday School). I will never really get the notion of how religion is sometimes used to justify some of the most evil deeds known to mankind
Particularly because the “brand” of religion that I was taught was very much rooted and steeped in the doctrine of “passive resistance” or as Dr Martin Luther King would call  it “soul force”. I was taught that violence was not the answer. The gospel that I am familiar with was a message of hope love and peace.

I really can’t say Much about Islam or the Quran because as a Christian I am honestly not that familiar with the religion or the book by which these individuals are justifying their actions: I will say this however. I know a few individuals who are Muslim and for the most part they are not the type of people I could ever picture being involved with or even condoning something like this. This post also is not an attempt at being ” politically correct ” I am just an honest person who prefers to engage in a genuine search for truth at all costs .I also know that the bible my own “holy book” which I do indeed hold “sacred” has unfortunately been used to justify some pretty “ungodly” and inhumane behavior as well. Slavery, the subjugation of women… To name just a few but here is the irony here: The same book used to justify the institution of Slavery was also instrumental in the Abolitionist movement which had its roots in The second Great Awakening, a religious revival that birthed two important and significant social justice movements : Abolition of Slavery and Women’s suffrage. Two of my favorite pages from history. How strange to me that two people can read the same manuscript which I believe intended purpose was to instruct others to lead more honest lives and one might go on a killing rampage in the name of a “holy war” while the other chooses to go live among the lepers in Calcutta or build a homeless shelter within their own community. This to me is the paradox that is religion ;within the wrong hands it can lead to some very otherworldly atrocities .How sad for those who “get it right” and are truly trying to “work out their own salvation” while acting as beacons of light that their good deeds are overshadowed by the deeds of those who take religion to such a dark and wicked place. As someone who has seen the good,the bad and the ugly as far as religious thinkers are concerned I do not think that religion itself is any more “dangerous” than any other ideology. I think it lies in how it is interpreted and filtered through the human heart .If the light that is within us is darkness than how can the bible serve as a “lamp unto our feet and a light unto our path?” I believe the purpose of reading a holy book is supposed to be for us to be transformed by the truths contained within .How sad that what we often do instead is ascribe our own twisted interpretation to said text in order to appease our selfish desires. This is not what I believe God would want.
Whether a person identifies as,” religious ” or not there are so many ways that believing in God and seeking the face of God through prayer has enriched my life. It has helped me to learn compassion and treat my fellow human beings with kindness. It has shown me that love is a greater force than hate.Hate is a negative and destructive force it does not create anything but chaos.But love gives birth to new life even in the darkest of circumstances and empowers people to rise above their conditions or conditioning.It is “life giving” rather than “life threatening” at every level.

Leave a Reply

